How To Delete eBay Account: If you are sure you want to close your eBay account, the process is simple enough. Click on the Close My Account link, complete the form and submit it. Note that there may be caveats related to account closure, in accordance with eBay’s terms and conditions.
You should learn how to permanently close your eBay account before attempting to do so, to make sure that this is what you really want. If you do not think you will use your account too often, you can simply disable it, and it will still be there if you choose to use it again in the future.
What To Do Before Closing Your Account?
Before closing your account, eBay says, make sure you:
- You do not owe money
- You have no bids being played
- Your account balance is zero
There are some cases where eBay does not allow you to completely close your account. If your account is below the low eBay rate, you cannot close it until it meets those standards.
You can change your mind 60 days after closing the account. After 60 days, your account will be permanently closed and will never be reopened. You will need to sign up for a new eBay account to buy or sell items.
Keeping an eBay Purchase Account?
Many former sellers end up on eBay but only as buyers. If you no longer want to sell, just activate your merchant account. You can do this by deleting your default payment method and the subscription of tools. You will still be able to bid, buy items, and participate in some other way, but you will not be able to sell.
Time To Wait For Account Closure:
Once you have confirmed to eBay that you want to close your account, there is a waiting period to allow any pending transactions to complete. During this waiting period, you will not be able to bid, make purchases, list items or change any contact information in your account. You will still be able to view your account details.
Once that waiting period has elapsed, you will not be able to use the eBay username or email address associated with your (closed) account to access any parts of eBay that need to be logged in. Your response profile will not be visible or available to other eBay members.
Please note that eBay retains your personal information even after you close your account, as stated in its privacy notice. It states that this is necessary to prevent fraud and for legal reasons.
Other Ways To Close An eBay Account:
Closing your eBay account is a big and unnecessary step. If you are simply not satisfied with something that happened on eBay, you may want to leave a comment or contact eBay about your problem. It would be easier to solve than to think.
But make sure you want to finish it with eBay before you pull the plug. Once your account is closed, it is permanently closed.